"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Life is Good

I haven’t written about general life lately. The Hunter mentioned that we are coming up on the TWO-year mark of our dating. Wow, two years. Who would have thought? Life is good. I have to admit that I am still stunned (and relieved) at how compatible we are. Now that we are both working from home, we are together A LOT and it’s fine. We both have the freedom to do as we please, we both bounce ideas off one another and support the other 100%.

I need to get back onto a more stringent schedule, but it’s nice waking up a little later, fucking, walking the dog, having a big breakfast and then hit the home office or head out the door. Life is relaxed. I feel a bit out of touch with my business world, but I am taking the necessary steps to correct that in the weeks and months ahead. Once I begin planning to leave the old job, I’ve been keeping a low profile while I get my business launch prepared.

We just spent the past two weekends out in the woods. One weekend was an overnight camping trip and the other was a delightful cabin at an amazing gun club. Both were the Hunter’s idea and he planned and packed everything. I can’t tell you how nice it is to throw some clothes in a bag, jump in the car and be done with it. No effort on my part.
I remind myself frequently that the Hunter is an independent adult who doesn’t need me to coddle him. He is fine on his own and can quite capably plan all types of activities. I have a fancy business dinner coming up and can bring a Plus One. I, of course, asked him if he wanted to go. He didn’t and told me to invite Robin. She was thrilled, he was thrilled and I was quite content with the outcome. Nobody feels left out, nobody is being dragged along – awesome.

Our life is simple. Our house and living conditions are simple. We talk about the next chapter. Do we buy something and where? Last weekend while driving to the cabin, the Hunter came up with an interesting solution. He proposed buying a place in the woods and either renting or buying a small place in town because our work won’t allow us to leave 2 hours away full time. We are getting to the point where we can block out 3, 4, 5 days that we could spend in the woods telecommuting. I liked that idea. We need to reduce the number of pets (2 dogs & a cat will not make a 1 or 2 bedroom condo feasible for my sanity). My pets are older and the cat would be thrilled living in the woods, so my guess is that this is a non-issue. The other issue is money, but that will be resolved in the next 18-24 months.

I am content with my quiet life with the Hunter. He loves me and accepts me for who I am. I never hear a hint of criticism and when he does think I am wrong, he tells me honestly and openly in a gentle way that gives me pause so I listen. Who knew I would pick this guy? Who knew this guy would pick me? We cuddle, snuggle and laugh about the fact that we must be the envy of all the neighborhood couples as we kiss & hold hands during our daily walks with the Kracken. Life is good. I have so much to be grateful for.

Comments on: "Life is Good" (8)

  1. screw the more stringent schedule. you ARE living! thats more than a lot of us ever get to do.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Isn’t that the truth?! I was just on the phone with a former work colleague who was describing a very successful woman in our profession who lives near him. He says she’s a terror. I said its a shame — she’s single, has tons of money and yet she’s working all the time like a crazy person. Her assistant (another former colleague) just quit because she’s too intense. That’s no way to live life.

      My problem is that if I don’t get into a bit of a work routine, then I tend to not stay focused on things that have to be done. I’ll be sipping coffee and reading blogs all day 🙂 Just keep in mind that my blog is the rambling of my mind — I tend to sort things out better when I write them down and re-read them a couple of times, so you are seeing my brain at work….for whatever that’s worth!

      Liked by 1 person

      • a little structure is ok. stringent just sucks.

        enjoy what you have. its more than many ever get to enjoy.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I agree — if I get too much structure I rebel. I learned long ago that a job that requires me to show up at the same time every day is a challenge for me. My business coach describes me as “unemployable” because I resist stupid rules. We both considered that quite a compliment. Now here I sit in the late afternoon still in my workout clothes because I’m working from home all day taking a break and enjoying my blog….

        Like

  2. I’m really happy to read this Maggie. Really happy for you.

    2 years, I know. I was thinking about that the other day. 2 years for me too, soon enough. Even though our relationship is nowhere as intense as yours, it is exactly what I needed, when I needed it. And I have to believe that it is also what he needed, otherwise he wouldn’t be here any more.

    I’m glad you are enjoying life. Mine is a bit more stressful, but there are many things about it I enjoy too, The Dancer ddefinitely is one of them. 🙂

    I agree, living a life just to make more money, wake up to go to work, thinking of when work ends, be it at the end of the day, the week or retirement… that’s the best way to go through life without living it.
    I decided to live. I was just going through life for far too long. I’m done with that!
    XO

    Like

  3. I love this post and so happy for you ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

