"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Dear Son

I wrote notes to my daughter and son-in-law a month or so ago.  I’ve decided that the art of letter writing needs to be revived, so I’m writing once again, but to my son.  Here is my message to him as he enters his junior year of college and struggles to figure out what he wants to do when he finishes school.  

Dear Son,

I understand how you may be feeling these days as you attempt to figure out a life plan. When I was your age (and younger), I didn’t know what I wanted to do with my life. I looked at all the safe, popular choices: MBA, law school, journalism, some type of management job, some type of sales job and it wasn’t easy. I decided to go the conventional route. I got married, found a job I liked, had kids and raised them. I did this early in my life, and that was my choice. However, my choices were influenced by conventional norms. When I was your age, I wasn’t ready to step outside of those norms and that was OK for me. My life has always been busy and I felt happy and fulfilled for the vast majority of it.

What I want to tell you is that you have choices. You have choices that YOU should make – not ones that you think will make others happy, but ones that you want. If you want to travel the world, do it. You want to work in Starbucks while you spend some time thinking, reading, researching –do it. You want to stay in school and continue your studies – do it. What I am trying to say is this is YOUR life and YOU need to live it to the fullest. It would be a shame to have you reach 30 or 40 or 50 (or whatever age) and you look back and say “Woulda, coulda, shoulda”.

As far as I know, we get one ride on this merry go round, so you need to make sure that you are living your life on your terms. That is the key to happiness, by the way. Doing the things that bring you joy and satisfaction. It’s OK if you haven’t figured out your grand life plan – few people have that ability, especially at your age. You are at the age where you have to try a lot of different things and you may be the type of person who thrives on reinventing yourself every several years (or months or whatever).

I’m trying to tell you that I will always love and support you in all your decisions and journeys through life (so long as they are legal – LOL). I will be there to help in whatever way I can and, of course, perfectly willing to throw in my two cents of advice (what else are moms for?).

All of this to simply mail you your new health insurance card.

I love you bunches,

Mom

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

