"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Power Couple

It’s been a very busy time around here. Launching two companies at the same time may be the definition of insanity, but we are having a blast and it’s really exciting. The Hunter just landed his first big contract. Actually it’s his first contract and it’s a doozy – a large global company that I have a lot of connections with, so the initial introduction was easy. There is tremendous potential within this company, but they are starting with their problem child to see how it goes. He has another meeting tomorrow with another large regional firm with the same approach – give him a problem child and see how he does.

It’s exciting to see him flourish. He spoke to an old boss today who was truly impressed with the strides the Hunter is making. The new certification, the new business idea, the teaching gig, the first contract all made the old boss’ head spin around. We both had a good chuckle.

For me, my company launch is going quite well. I successfully brought over one of my biggest clients. I’ll find out next week if my favorite one will join us. We have to put on a full presentation, but I anticipated that and have an edge since nobody knows them as well as I do – not even my old boss. Robin, my partner-in-crime, is invaluable and just as thrilled with our launch. Next week we have a celebratory Friday lunch for our big win this week (contracts will be signed by then). Her quiet, level-headedness is a godsend. The separation from our old firm has been non-eventful (which is just how we wanted it) and we haven’t made a big splashy announcement until we know if the other client is joining us. I don’t need the sharks circling any more than necessary, but inevitably word is slipping out and that’s OK too.

I look back on where I was just over a year ago and marvel at my progress. Last spring and summer I was in the depths of a deep, deep work funk that rendered me virtually immobile. I had completely lost my mojo. Then the turning point was telling myself that nobody can fix this but myself. I don’t have a good home office, fine, fix it! So I did over a weekend with used furniture, cans of spray paint to make some used file cabinets fire engine red, and a fortuitous office yard sale. I realized that instead of complaining about the lack of support from my firm, I should just fix it. So with trial and error, I have. I tried some virtual assistants with lackluster results. Now I use Fiverr on a task-by-task basis and it’s been great to fill my gap.

Life is great and I see so much potential. I’m the eternal optimist once again. It’s funny, the Hunter had his self-doubt moment a couple of days ago. He was finally getting a few no’s to his introductory calls and we both realized that what we are doing is not for the faint of heart. My moment of “oh shit” was last week. It’s difficult, hard work to start companies up from scratch, but the good news is we have each other. He is always finding ways to help me and the same goes for me. As one of our friends said, we are a power couple. Look out world!!

Comments on: "Power Couple" (4)

  1. YAY!
    So pleased for both of you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I admire your tenacity…I couldn’t do it myself, my fear of doing it alone is too great…I’m definitely lulled by the corporate environment.

    I’m so happy things are all headed in the right direction for both of you – these trials that you have overcome together are showing what a strong foundation you and the Hunter have built!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

