"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

It’s All About the Bass

I wonder if one reason the Hunter isn’t being as physical with me is my weight. I gained a lot of weight over the last year. I mean a lot. Let’s put down the number – 23 pounds. Yes, I have gone off the deep end. In my defense, the Hunter gained quite a bit of weight, but between being sick and now walking the dog and cutting back, he has dropped 20 pounds. Men, damn them, have an easier time than women when it comes to weight loss.

I tried combating the weight with personal trainers and while my body got stronger, I didn’t lose weight. I know this is because I haven’t changed my eating habits. As my last trainer said, to lose a single pound a week, your output needs to be 3,500 calories more than what you are inputting.

I’m disgusted with myself. I did a lot of work and lost about 40 pounds when I first moved out. It wasn’t that easy but with consistent exercise and cutting back on the food, it was achievable. I’ve been thinking about what I am doing now and it’s the diet – the Hunter’s diet. He is a meat and potatoes kind of guy. I need less of both. I need more veggies, more salad, more yogurt, more fish (he hates fish) and less of all the things he makes. Sigh.

On the positive side, he loves veggies, loves salads and eats them all. He has cut back on making big meals during the week because we don’t have that much time, but I need to figure out some healthier solutions for me. I need to prioritize a healthier diet for me. I need to control my portions. I need to have some better options for my sweet tooth.

I dumped the personal trainer – the money is too much and quite frankly I was getting a bit bored with his routines. He tried to coax me back into his group classes, but those are too intense. Right now I am walking the dogs for about an hour or more a day and then I have access to a gym which I use at least twice a week. What’s interesting to me is that I have learned enough over the years from the trainers, the boot camps, the Y classes, to develop some decent routines that work all areas of my body, so I feel like I’m getting great workouts.

Now I need to focus on results. I think that’s the key for life right now. I need results (and a smaller dress size). Now I’m off to the grocery store to stock up on healthy options.

Comments on: "It’s All About the Bass" (13)

  1. The New York Times just published a scathing article on how the sugar industry paid off academic scientists to published articles that promoted low fat, high carb (and sugar) diets to promote weight loss and metabolic/cardiovascular health. All lies. Read up on low carb diets. If you are eating sugar and high glycemic index carbs and drinking alcohol, you will not lose weight. Period. With such a high glycemic index diet, Exercise starves your body and will propel you to eat more. It’s not just calories in/out. It’s changing the balance of foods you eat so the food you do eat doesn’t spike your insulin and convert glucose to fat. Meat might be fine. White Potatoes are the worst. Read up on this. Check out books by Gary Taub. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You will do it. I know

    Like

  3. I realised not that long ago that I know exactly what I need to do to take care of myself. The real problem is this: do I feel like I deserve to be taken care of? If I don’t believe it in my core, then why should I do anything about it? I may change habits for a little while, but I know that as soon as stress gets back into my life (and at the moment it’s daily), I’ll eat again. Exercising… I’d have to put myself as a priority on my list. I don’t seem to be able to do that just yet.
    Luckily, The Dancer seems to like me just the way I am, and once, when I told him how I despised my tummy, and how helpful it was that he spent so long stroking it even without knowing that I had that problem, how it helps me heal… he told me ‘but your tummy is perfect the way it is. It wouldn’t be half as pleasant if you were sporting 6-pack abs!’

    So before you assume anything, I’d check with the Hunter. It may be that his problem has nothing to do with this.
    Of course, to address that question, you’ll have to address the whole ‘I worry you don’t like me any more, and I worry you don’t desire me any more. I hate it that we don’t spend the night together any more.’ Only then can you add the ‘I worry it’s because I gained weight’ part of it.
    And I think the first conversations are harder to have than the last one.
    I am certain that, once you start to let it all out, you can work towards finding solutions together. Or maybe you could have suggestions on how he could help you feel more comfortable, or how he could help you achieve those weight loss goals when you have them again.

    I know you can do it. Good luck Maggie!
    XO

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am struggling right now with weight too…I put back on 12 pounds this summer and none of my fall clothes fit properly. If I was still in my old job I would have struggled through and not bought new things, but I chose to buy some brand appropriate clothes for the new gig. Getting back into a routine which includes making the right food choices is never easy, unfortunately unhealthy choices are just too plentiful and for women like us, our bodies move too quickly back to weight gain – makes me nuts.

    But we can do it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. […] had written a post about wondering if the Hunter’s sexual interest in me was waning due to my weight gain. I wrote […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

