"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

I have been MIA because life is just so damn hectic these days.  Work is busy with everything skittering around and making me think that a comfortably numb state-of-mind (i.e. a few tokes or drinks) is the solution.  That’s nothing new in my work world because I do have a stressful job.  I just listen to my affirmations and plug along.  I do still need to work on my self-discpline because I have quite a few time-sensitive things to get done, but here I sit writing a blog post.

The Hunter and I are set to move next week and we had the walk-thru last night.  By the light of day and no furniture, the age of the house revealed itself, much like an older woman without makeup.  The landlord was a bit too intrusive and reality crashed on my head as I noticed all these things plus the distance between the house and my clients.  My feet grew icy cold and the Hunter noticed my panic.  He was wonderful.  He gently gave me a “I told you so” about the house, and we agreed that it would be a one-year scenario so we can get accustomed to the new locale.  My girlfriend, who up until last year lived in this area, is IM’ing me right now that she and her husband had not liked the area’s location so much — sigh.  Don’t tell me this now!

When we returned home, I walked the dog and reminded myself that I had studied the work situation thoroughly and knew that this new locale would be just fine.  Then I rattled off a list of colleagues who commute the same way I will be commuting.  I have the tremendous good fortune of being able to work from home oftentimes more than 50% of the work week, depending on matters at hand.  This morning I had some more thoughts of empowering my junior colleague so my presence isn’t as necessary as I would like to think.

Taz is graduating and moving in the next 30 days.  My son is headed to a summer study aboard for two months in Asia.  I am moving.  Isn’t that enough drama for now?  I have packed exactly two boxes and those are things that must be mailed off to their rightful owner.  My home office is strewn with papers and is a complete wreck.  As a matter of fact, the whole house is a wreck and I am failing dramatically as a domestic goddess.  Not that I have ever dreamed of being a domestic goddess, but I have hit an all new low in my domesticity.

But I have decided not to fret.  The movers can always help pack.  I can hire a housekeeper.  The great news is that the Hunter has flourished at this new job and is incredibly happy.  His new boss has encouraged him to apply for a new job which would be a huge promotion for him and another significant pay increase.  I am so very, very proud of him.  He is finally tapping into the potential I have always seen in him.  The other great news is that my kids are doing amazing, tremendous things.  My son, in lieu of a Mother’s Day card, said the most wonderful, heartfelt things to me that just about made me bawl.  Both of my children have told me this year how much they love me and appreciate all I have done for them.

I just need to accept the fact that life is very, very hectic and expensive this year.  With Taz’s wedding, birthday, graduation, etc., she has been quite needy.  My son’s pending trip to Asia requires money and planning.  The move requires money and planning also.  I have been so relieved and impressed with the Hunter with regard to the move.  He assembled 75% of the money we needed for the move.  I had to borrow from my 401k because cash flow is limited right now.

Now you can see why I haven’t been writing — too many plates are spinning and I’ll be damned if I let any crash.  Now I’ve got to go earn some money.  2016 is one very expensive year.

 

Comments on: "I’m Still Alive, but Broke" (6)

  1. Good luck with everything.
    May it all fall into place in the end!
    🙂
    My life has been quite hectic too, but I’m finally seeing the end of the tunnel and it’s smiling on me. Hoping it keeps smiling 🙂
    A move is always difficult, you will need some time to adjust and find your new balance, but I’m confident you can do it 🙂
    Sending good vibes your way.
    XO

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good luck with everything! I have no doubt everything is just gonna be fine Maggie! you’ve got the knack

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

