"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Break on Through

Made the scene
Week to week
Day to day
Hour to hour
The gate is straight
Deep and wide
Break on through to the other side
Break on through to the other side
Break on through
Break on through
Break on through
Break on through
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah

The Doors

I read a great sales book this week. The book and a searingly candid discussion with my girlfriend has exposed a huge gap in my professional development. I have virtually no skills at obtaining new clients. This is a problem in my business because I eat what I kill. What’s funny/sad/interesting is that I have hobbled along for 15 years making a decent living without these skills. I have had pipeline crises before but now I am really digging into the root of the problem and discovering what has truly been holding me back.

My theme for this year is self-discipline and I have to admit that for the first quarter it has sucked. With Taz’s wedding and other distractions, I have once again put my needs last and not focused on myself. That’s a problem. I need to be selfish. I need to be focused. I need to be more disciplined. I need to be more aggressive.

The good news is I know now what I need to do to fix this problem. I have outlined my steps and with a few more mental exercises, I’ll be 100% locked and loaded. The question becomes do I want to fix it? My days of cocktail parties, business lunches and endless meeting people aren’t so interesting to me. I need to do those things though, so I will need to figure out a reasonable balance so I don’t burn out.

By a quirk of fate, the Hunter had asked me to simply see if there are any jobs in our new locale. I googled it and lo and behold something in-house with an organization of gargantuan proportions popped up. It had been listed only 2 days before. On a whim, I freshened up my resume and applied. Then to make sure I made the short list, I called an executive there thinking I would report to him, I wouldn’t but he graciously pointed me to his counterpart in HR who forwarded my voice mail to the recruiter. I was already on the recruiter’s short list and the next day we had a 45 minute intro interview that resulted in him recommending me for the next round, an interview with my potential boss. The problem is the salary is too low. Even with the bonus and all the benefits.

This conundrum has occupied my mind this week as I roll the issue around and think about it from different angles. My girlfriend has been infinitely helpful coaching in this regard because she has sat on both sides of that table — the boss and the interviewee. Her advice: stand my ground, draw my line in the sand with regards to salary and let them want me. I have to agree. To go in-house means surrendering everything, so they need to pay for that.

What’s interesting is I noticed in LinkedIn – the absolute best place to stalk people – is that a business acquaintance joined them about 8 months ago. She works for another division in another location, but the job is the same. I have more experience, a much better pedigree of prior jobs, so that cemented my thought about salary expectations. I’m worth a lot more than her. I don’t say that to be conceited — it’s the truth.

So now unfortunately I have brought myself to a difficult fork in the road. Security of an in-house job versus freelancing. I have decided that I cannot wait around to see if this job materializes. There are too many unknowns. I have to continue down my current path with my current position with my current firm and focus on self-discipline and business development. I have to fill my pipeline, so I must concentrate on the business development which isn’t in my comfort zone, but is essential not only for success but for survival.

It all goes back to my theme this year – self-discipline. I have said this will be a year of change. I should go get a lottery ticket because I am right on the money.

Comments on: "Break on Through" (4)

  1. I love how you objectively analyze your situation(s), derive the appropriate conclusions, and then get your thumb out of your ass and do it! Freaking amazing!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, let’s see if my actions are as loud as my words. I’m wrapping up another fantastic book on prospecting for clients that basically says, “prospecting and cold calling suck, but you gotta do it”. I love the fact he doesn’t soften the blow. It’s all self-discipline, which isn’t necessarily fun, but essential. Back to work!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

