"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Our First Anniversary

I had a funny phone call this week from the Hunter. He calls from work to tell me, not discuss with me, what is our official anniversary date. He claims it is when he moved in rather than February 1st which was our first date. I started laughing because, well, it is clear that he thinks we have too romance much crammed into February, so he’s trying to push the anniversary back a month. I called him on it and he sheepishly laughed and said, “Of course! I can’t afford all this in one month!”  

Then I told him that putting a bunch of hype and emphasis on a single day like Valentines or an anniversary isn’t my style. I think that we should be appreciating each other all year and a special day doesn’t have to be some over-the-top occasion. He sighed and said, “this is why I love you. You are such a unique and special woman.”  

But in my mind, our anniversary will be February 1st, celebration or not.  It was our first date (you can read about it here) and it was the beginning of us.  I asked him this morning after a great Sunday fuck, if he had been nervous on that date. He laughed and said, “very much so.”  Yes, I had seen his nerves. Now, knowing him much better, I know that he really laid his soul bare and really opened himself up to me. I could have crushingly rejected him for not having enough money or education or whatever. Instead, I looked inside and saw a wonderful, smart man who wanted to love someone and be loved, unconditionally, as well. 

Fast forward to today and we have settled into domesticity. The Hunter lately has laughingly complained that I have turned him into a “pussy” and he is becoming soft. He isn’t going to the woods as much and we think it’s because he is happy at home and no longer needs to escape. Our home is now just that — ours. It started as my oasis of freedom and an expression of me when I moved out. I furnished it slowly and thoughtfully with things I love and always wanted. Now we have some of his photos in the living room, a bobcat skin and deer antlers in the dining area, camping gear and a smoker out on the patio, a canoe out front –you get the idea — and I am happy with this. 

I am happy with my relationship with the Hunter. It is such an honor and joy to have a good, strong man loving me. He gives me so much support and encouragement. He appreciates my help and support as well. Our life is easy and we are very compatible. The challenge for us will be fighting the complacency and not taking each other for granted. 

The first half of this year is full of significant milestones for Taz which spills over to me, but I am pining for a vacation and want to plan something so I have the joy of anticipation. I need some sand in my toes and to get out amongst folks a bit. The Hunter has unwittingly done the latter by surprising me with tickets to a Valentines concert and a comedienne that we both love. I just need to speak up and act too. I have very ambitious work goals this year and I need to push hard to make the dollars I want to earn. It is all within my grasp and I am so very happy with my life. I am a lucky girl. 

Comments on: "Our First Anniversary" (5)

  1. I’m so happy for you!

    I have a similar post in the works (minus the domesticity of course!), but I won’t have time tonight, because I have a big day tomorrow.

    It’s good to love and be loved in return, for who we are and not for who people want us to be, isn’t it?
    And it feels good to have some support too…
    Really happy for you!

    XO

    Liked by 1 person

  2. As for anniversary… I don’t expect to get much of one, since in his mind we’re not in a relationship, right? Sigh!
    I do at least hope we can spend time together that day 🙂

    Like

  3. Wonderful positive post. You sound pleased and happy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

