"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

My Doppleganger?

The Hunter popped up with two very sweet random thoughts over the past few days. The first was when we

 were watching Danny Collins. This is a delightful movie and I was curled up post-colposcopy watching it when the Hunter got home from work. He got sucked into it and then remarked 2/3 of the way through that Mary Sinclair (played by Annette Benning) is a dead ringer for me. Really?! He said she acts just like me. There is a faint resemblance (although Annette is far more beautiful in reality), but I was charmed.  

That compliment was far better than the time when a former Mean Girl work colleague said I looked like   Jean Stapleton (a la All in the Family).  Fucking viscious bitch. She did this at two conferences in front of senior management. I knew my days at that company where numbered when she started climbing the corporate ladder.  

 
I digress.  Another other random thought from this week came about as we made plans for the weekend. The Hunter has a 3-day weekend so we talked about possibly camping, however, the weather was a bit iffy, so instead we’ll head out for a day hike.  Then he began laughing. “Maggie, you have made my life too comfortable. I am growing soft and not going to the woods as much.”  He then started teasing me, “We need to argue occasionally so I say ‘Fuck It!’ And head off to the woods.  Since you are too nice, I guess I will have to be the asshole.”  Now we are both laughing and I have a new rebuttal when he teases me — I tell him to go to the woods. 

The final, perhaps sweetest random thought came another morning when we woke up. We had jumped out of bed to pee and brush our teeth, but scurried back under the covers for a snuggle. The Hunter had me wrapped in his arms, my head on his shoulder and he gently sighed contentedly. He asked me if during my marriage I ever woke up angry.  He said oftentimes he would wake up already angry and his chest was tight with anger. I told him that occasionally but more often I would silently cry myself to sleep.  He pulls me closer and kisses me deeper. He murmurs, “You are a lucky girl, aren’t you? I am a lucky man”.  One more soft, rich kiss and he’s off to get ready for work.  Yes, I am very lucky indeed. 

Comments on: "My Doppleganger?" (6)

  1. Madeline Harper said:

    I just love reading the Hunter posts! They make me so happy for you and your contentment! ❤️💞👍🏻😄

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It is a nice feeling, when both think they are the lucky one in a relationship, isn’t it?
    I’m happy for you Maggie!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lovely post. Very encouraging.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

