"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

The Climb

There’s always gonna be another mountain
I’m always gonna wanna make it move
Always gonna be an uphill battle
Sometimes I’m gonna have to lose
Ain’t about how fast I get there
Ain’t about what’s waitin’ on the other side
It’s the climb

Miley Cyrus

One of my biggest goals this year is to work on my self-discipline.  I have allowed that muscle to become flabby. Even as I write this, I am not working and am still in workout clothes although I haven’t worked out and it’s approaching 9:30 on a weekday and I have plenty to do.  I’ll consider today a lapse, but tomorrow I need to get back on schedule. I’ll get back on schedule for today also, but let’s finish this post first.

Last weekend I had about a dozen girlfriends come over so we could create Vision Boards. I did this last year and it was such a rousing success, that it appears this may become my annual signature event. I haven’t finished mine because I was busy playing hostess, but I want mine to be covered with images and phrases about self-discipline. I need it. I have big goals and aspirations for the year. 

I have been reading and planning a great deal. I have been questioning why I haven’t lived up to my true  

 potential and it came down to two simple things: mindset and self-discipline. I have worked on the mindset and my ThinkUp app continues to do wonders for me. I feel like I am improving dramatically on that front. Self-discipline is another story. 

I started out strong, but then my SD muscle gets tired and I allow it to lapse. This week has been a great example. I need to plan my week and then update it daily. My workdays are unpredictable, but I need SD to keep all my plates spinning. This week jumped out of the starting gate and I wasn’t fully prepared. I feel like the racehorse is galloping around the track and I’m still trying to get my feet in the stirrups. I need to re-group. 

SD is also key for my goals around my health. I need to get in shape and lose more weight. I haven’t been good about exercising, eating the right foods both in terms of amount and type. It all circles back to SD. I like to think of myself as something of a free spirit. Unfortunately that will only work if I won the lottery and even then it would take SD not to squander the money. 

I spent quite a few hours over the holidays planning out this year. I have annual goals and then these are broken down to quarterly, monthly and weekly goals. I created a kick ass spreadsheet that impressed the shit out of my business coach because everything on it was SMART (specific, measurable, actionable, reasonable, time-bound).  Everything is there, but it is up to me to execute it. For that, I need to build up my flabby SD muscle. The great news is that every day, every hour is a new beginning. So with that, it’s time for me to get started. 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

