"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Full Circle….in Walmart

Funny how the circle turns around
You think your lost and then you’re found again
Though you always look for what you know
Each time around it’s something new again

The Byrds

I have another funny story to share with all of you. The Hunter got his great new job and to celebrate, we decided to head off to the woods for a weekend camping trip. I took a day off from my crazy work life so we could spend three full days enjoying nature and each other. It was awesome.

Now that the Hunter is hired and all the paperwork has been completed, he feels comfortable firing up a joint again. He has been clean for about five months now. Amazing right? I am so proud of him because when we met, he smoked several times every day. As part of the festivities, the Hunter wanted to bring along some ganja because it makes nature just so much more enjoyable. He got enough for three joints on Wednesday and by Friday, he had about 1-1/2 joints left.

He wanted me to get buzzed and with the crazy week I had, I was willing to escape into somewhere comfortably numb. Our camping adventure began with a nice leisurely road trip that involved a couple of stops so our three hour trip stretched into about 4-4-1/2 hours up a country road. It was delightful and I was buzzed, the radio had good tunes and we were chatting away. Then we stopped at Walmart for some last minute supplies.

I was fried when we walked into Walmart. I haven’t been this high for many months and I typically am not the person to get so intoxicated on much of anything because I like to have my wits about me. But the Hunter had prodded a little and I was willing since we had no plans (and I had safely turned my phone OFF), so I definitely inhaled more than usual. So now Walmart and it wasn’t even a super Walmart. As a matter of fact, it was probably on the smaller side. I walked inside and within 5 minutes was lost. I mean like a 3-year-old child lost. The Hunter sent me down an aisle to get pillows because we had forgotten pillows and I needed some anyway. I thought he was right behind me and when I turned around, I was alone.

I swear, I walked around that Walmart for what seemed like 30 minutes with a pillow in each hand and a goofy smile on my face. I went by the bottled water and soda since that was something we needed, no Hunter. I went by the grocery area, no Hunter. I went around the entire perimeter of the store, no Hunter. Then the paranoia hit and I thought he was hiding from me and quietly stalking me and laughing. That caused me to take 10 steps and then spin around to see if he was behind me. 10 steps, spin. Goofy smile, two pillows. I must have been the sight to see.

Finally I see the Hunter approaching the bottled water area and I breathe a sigh of relief. I truly know what a lost child feels like. I didn’t have the humility to ask store personnel for help even though they watched me wander the store aimlessly for what seemed like an eternity.

I grab the Hunter and ask him where he’s been. The camping section (of course). I tell him that I was lost and couldn’t find him. He chuckles. He tells me that before I took off to grab the pillows he had told me to join him in the camping section….oh, I had missed that part. I kept my hand on his shoulder for the remainder of the time. When we get back to the car and leave, I confess that I felt like a lost child and tell him the rest of the adventure (spinning around, lost, goofy grin). He howls with laughter. We both start laughing until we cannot breathe and it continued all weekend. All one of us needed to say was “Walmart pillows” and the giggles commenced.

Now, let’s get serious for a minute and talk about the lovely ganja and the Hunter. He and I had a serious conversation about it on the ride home. He was tempted to get more, so he told me about wanting to fire up on Sunday night. We talked about it and he settled on a cigar instead. He knows he needs to keep his wits about him. I told him that I was concerned about how he would handle this weekend binge. I was uneasy that perhaps it could lead to a serious relapse. I didn’t want him to hide from me, but to talk to me. I told him I didn’t want to come across as judgmental, but instead, concerned about him. He was fine with my reaction and appreciated it. I hope he keeps that demon in check. Yes, we had a great time and the pot with some rum kept the Hunter happy and mellow. Now the test will be, can he accept it in moderation? He says that he knows he has no choice. I think he is strong enough to keep it in check, but he needs to continue to let me know when he struggles, so I can understand where he’s at. He has a great job now, so it would be awful to have something like this fuck things up. In the meantime, I will not be venturing into any big box retailer stoned. I can’t handle that shit.

Comments on: "Full Circle….in Walmart" (5)

  1. I had no idea the 60s were back! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When you talked about getting high and then going to Wal-mart, I figured the story would surely involve Oreos.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. […] too high because then I don’t feel too much in control and find myself either munching out or lost in Walmart. But I do like a toke and I did slightly miss it during the Hunter’s hiatus, however, now that […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

