"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

What a Wonderful World

I see trees of green, red roses, too,
I see them bloom, for me and you
And I think to myself
What a wonderful world.

I see skies of blue, and clouds of white,
The bright blessed day, the dark sacred night
And I think to myself
What a wonderful world.

The colors of the rainbow, so pretty in the sky,
Are also on the faces of people going by.
I see friends shaking hands, sayin’, “How do you do?”
They’re really sayin’, “I love you.”

I hear babies cryin’. I watch them grow.
They’ll learn much more than I’ll ever know
And I think to myself
What a wonderful world

Yes, I think to myself
What a wonderful world

Louis Armstrong

Kindness – the Hunter rolled over this morning and gathered me into his strong arms. He began murmuring into my ear words of love in Spanish. So sexy. Then he switches to English and tells me how much he appreciates how kind I am to him. How my kindness and openness make him feel more loved than any other relationship he’s ever had. It’s 4:30 am and time for him to get ready for work.

Kindness is one of my core values. I am working through another business self-help book (Take the Stairs – 7 Steps to Achieving True Success by Rory Vaden). This one talks about how when we aren’t true to our core values, it limits us. Makes sense. I have discovered that my top core values are:
1. Kindness – this can be good manners, not being rude. Small things like please and thank you or big things like a gift or a freebie.
2. Growth – it’s important to me to see people grow and evolve.
TIE 3. It’s a tie between: Open-minded, non-judgmental – I try to always be accepting of others and opinions that don’t match mine. However, I can be bitchy and judgmental of others along with gossipy at times.
TIE 3. Helping – I love to help my clients, help the booster clubs I ran, help the community, help my kids, help my friends, help strangers. How do I help – through advice, actions,
The next tie of my values was between:
TIE 4. Trust
TIE 4. Positive thinking – looking forward,
5. Freedom
6. Creativity – writing, new business ideas

I also am conscious that I love to appreciate the beauty of nature – the ocean, the woods. I find that being outdoors restores my soul.  What is interesting is the anti-values things that turn me off are:

  • Narrow-mindness or rigid beliefs
  • A Worrier
  • Rudeness
  • Ignorance
  • Mean-spirited or cruel
  • Negative thinking
  • Betrayal
  • Stagnant – people who don’t grow or evolve

Now if you know the Hunter and his history, he has most of these anti-values (except worrier & stagnant — the Ex wears those titles). But because I have those core values above and shine those on him, I don’t receive those anti-values from him. It goes back to the old adage that you get back what you put out there.

The Hunter jumped to words of love very quickly in our relationship. I was hesitant. I wasn’t sure I was ready for this tidal wave of full-fledged loving relationship. I thought it would grow more slowly and Love needed time to blossom and grow. The Hunter felt emotions and feelings he had never felt with another woman, so he quickly knew he had found his One. He had been alone long enough to know what he wanted and to recognize when he found it. I was smart enough to realize that this man was offering so much to me: love, he wanted to take care of me, appreciation, freedom (no restraints). So I allowed that tidal wave to swoop me along. Embracing him and letting my emotions flow has been the best decision this year. We are oh so happy together.

Our relationship continues to deepen and fall into the routines that all couples develop. I have a few things I need to correct because I have fallen into a routine that was part of my previous life — I am not sharing the housework. Funny how a post that starts out about kindness works into cleaning bathrooms.

I realized this weekend that I need to speak up. Acts of Service are one of my Love languages. I know that cleaning the house is my way of showing my love, however, we are two adults living together. He needs to pull his weight. I cleaned the house solo for the last time. Next week I will sit down with him and divvy up the chores. I know that he will be receptive and it’s the smart thing to do because it will keep me from feeling any rumblings of discontent.

Now I have to finish that damn book. It’s very interesting for both personal and business.

Comments on: "What a Wonderful World" (2)

  1. I love that you are such a practical romantic 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

