"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Pack It Up

You guys are the pits of the world!

Oh, this is no place for me
Burnin’ down the interbelt, from jacuzzi to jacuzzi
It’s all right for you man
Gettin’ smashed, gettin’ suntanned
But i know my place
Where’s my suitcase?

Pack it up or throw it away
What i can’t carry, bury
Oh you remember me, i remember you
But that was a long, long time ago
When i was passin’ through

The Pretenders

I have been meaning to write about our AirBnB hostess, but life has been interfering with my writing. That’s a good thing. You will be getting a surge of posts over the next couple of days because life has gotten quite interesting, but first let’s reflect on P, our recent hostess. You can read about our road trip here.

We sat down with P on Sunday morning. I wanted to thank her and catch up. P was one of my competitors back in the day. She even won a great job I was vying for one time. P is more than 10 years older than me. Her life has been very interesting. She lived overseas for several years, had 3 kids, divorced as they exited the house, re-married a college sweetheart and now they have a blended family of 6 grown children with one granddaughter.

During the recession, she fared poorly and decided to leave the rat race. P said why stay when she wasn’t making any money, so she moved to a smaller city and was able to kick ass and take names while enjoying a better quality of life. Interestingly I have been looking at the same city as a potential option as well.

Now she lives in the woods on a river. She and her husband built their dream house. It has a couple of small cabins that they rent out or use for overflow family. She dotes on her granddaughter. She is happy — it radiates from her. And I am happy for her. I went to a cocktail party this week and ran into her former posse. They all waxed lyrical on her new house,her life and admitted envy.

I am intrigued and pleased when a woman older than me (she was 56) takes off, refuses to accept the norm and carves out a new life for herself. Another girlfriend at the same age (56) has suddenly moved out West with her fiancé. I will miss her tremendously, but I admire the gumption. I guess my 56th birthday could be an interesting year — I certainly have the role models for it!

Comments on: "Pack It Up" (4)

  1. It’s a question of realizing what you really want. And that may change as you get older. But when you know, then you have to prioritize what you have to do to get it. And what you will have to give up.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s always nice to read about older women who have dealt with (and sometimes instigated) major change in such a positive way and with such a wonderful outcome. It gives me hope.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Right?! It brings hope to me too. It confirms to me that life’s journey is not a straight road and when you get to a fork in the road, it takes courage to take the road least traveled.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

