"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

I used to think maybe you loved me, now, baby, I’m sure
And I just can’t wait till the day when you knock on my door
Now every time I go for the mailbox, gotta hold myself down
‘Cause I just can’t wait till you write me you’re coming around

Now I’m walking on sunshine, whoa
I’m walking on sunshine, whoa
I’m walking on sunshine, whoa
And don’t it feel good
Hey, all right now
And don’t it feel good
Hey, yeah

Katrina and the Waves

This weekend the Hunter and I enjoyed having the house quiet and back to just the two of us, the cat and dog. The Hunter is busy these weekends. He is either working or in the woods or headed to a shooting range (gun or archery) with friends. I am happy for him. I am thankful that he has hobbies and friends to share these hobbies. I enjoy my quiet time, but I have also realized that I need to get my lazy ass off the sofa as well.

I signed up for several upcoming events. One is a movie night of a special documentary that a girlfriend invited me to. The Hunter is welcome, but he isn’t very interested, so he was happy to see me go. The other is an outdoors event with a chapter of our hiking club. I knew he would be in the woods, so I signed up via Facebook. When the Hunter noticed I signed up, he quietly contacted the group leader and paid my entry fee. I was so impressed by his thoughtfulness. He is happy when I do these things. His invalid parents live in a condo with some great amenities, which I recently took advantage of for the first time. Anytime I want to go, he sets it up with his son for me to enjoy the facilities. It is beautiful and brings me such joy and relaxation. I am having a bevy of friends over next weekend for a Mary Kay party. A former work colleague became a Mary Kay consultant, so I have to help a sister out. I am also joining a book club. Once the weather cools a bit, I will be able to jump on my bike and get outdoors a bit more. I can’t wait.

It is interesting that as my relationship with the Hunter deepens, we continue to appreciate all that the other does. I don’t take him for granted and I know that he works hard to do the same. We talked about this Fall and the amount of time he wants to spend in the woods. I have told him that I will be honest if it begins to bother me. That’s a big step for me. I usually keep things bottled up and am not honest with loved ones when they upset me. When the weather cools, I may go with him. I have my daughter’s engagement party in October which will be in her current hometown plus I want to spend a weekend with my son at his college (awesome football town), so I have my fair share of weekends away.

I have spent my life living for others. I need to make sure that I continue to live my life for myself now. I need to make sure that I am doing the things that bring me joy. I have sorted through my work issues and have come up with a new business plan. I have begun negotiating some things with my boss that will re-structure our relationship, my workload and my compensation. It’s bold and very different from what we have done previously and it involves a generous raise for me. He is open to the discussion so I think we will come to the other side intact. If not, I have several firms that have already expressed serious interest in me and would pay me more than I am earning presently. A girl has to keep her options open.

Comments on: "Walking on Sunshine (Part II)" (5)

  1. Sounds like a good plan in every aspect of you world

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Marty. Now I just need to start working on daily routines to keep myself disciplined. Baby steps, baby steps but so long as I am headed in the right direction, I’m good.

      Like

  2. Madeline Harper said:

    You have so many great things going on! Sounds wonderful!!

    Like

  3. It sounds like things are going great! I’m really glad that you are taking care of yourself and that both of you are pursuing your own interests from time to time. When I was married, I didn’t do that and it’s one of the things I’m really enjoying now. If I ever get into another relationship and the person has a problem with me taking “me-time” or spending time with friends, then I’ll know right away he’s not the guy for me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

