"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

I’m Walking on Sunshine

I used to think maybe you loved me, now I know that it’s true
And I don’t want to spend my whole life just a-waiting for you
Now, I don’t want you back for the weekend, not back for a day, no, no, no
I said, baby, I just want you back, and I want you to stay

Oh, yeah, now I’m walking on sunshine, whoa
I’m walking on sunshine, whoa
I’m walking on sunshine, whoa
And don’t it feel good
Hey, all right now
And don’t it feel good
Yeah, oh, yeah, now
And don’t it feel good

Walking on sunshine
Walking on sunshine

Katrina and the Waves

The Hunter and I are back onto an even keel these days. He has forgiven me and I am fully aware of my transgression which shall not be repeated. As I sat with my therapist, Athena, in the aftermath, I realized a couple of things. 1) The topics I discussed should have first been hashed out with the Hunter and not a third party. 2) The Hunter is growing as well by learning how to more smoothly process his anger and hurt. He handled his hurt and anger much more maturely than he had in the past. He says part of the reason is that I stay the same and continue to treat him with respect and kindness, so he sees the good in me. I am glad he sees that.

For the past week, my son has been home from college. What a great kid he is. Quietly as brilliant as his sister, but he is interested in a different life journey. He went to Costa Rica with his dad, who tried so hard to provide an adventurous vacation. My Ex doesn’t necessarily plan well, so they were over-ambitious for part of it which caused a bit of travel stress. He arrived late on Saturday because his dad simply couldn’t let go. I get it. I know that my Ex loves our children with every atom in his body. I know that he gets lonely, but I also know that he is selfish. This caused my son to arrive late that afternoon even though my son wanted to arrive hours earlier. My Ex has now learned that there is a man in my life. The Hunter’s truck was beside mine. They did not meet – the Hunter didn’t want to meet nor did my Ex it seems. It was an amusing moment.

My son dropped off his luggage and apologetically told me he had plans with friends to go rock climbing. Off he went for four hours. I told him to bring them all back home for dinner. Thankfully they did, so I had four college men eating us out of house and home. I loved it. The Hunter was amused at how happy I was having them all there and being able to mother them all.

When my son stays with me, I give him space. I asked him if this was OK one day at lunch and he told me how much he appreciated it. My Ex’s controlling tendencies lead him to want to make plans constantly. He insists that my son invite his friends downtown and his nerdy friends (my son is a self-proclaimed nerd himself) have no interest in the sights and sounds of downtown. It causes stress and friction between the two of them. My son and I spent time shopping for things he needs for college. He had never been to Costco and was amazed at it all. He went back to school and I am over $500 poorer with all the stuff we bought during the week, a sushi dinner, etc. My son has a gentle, generous soul. He too has taken the 5 Languages of Love test and we laughed about the fact that we have the same answers. This visit he was more at ease with the Hunter. The Hunter is impressed with my kids – their intelligence, manners, and future ambitions. I must admit that they are my finest achievement.

My son is safely back at school, so the Hunter and I are falling back into our routines. It is good to have the house back to ourselves. It was interesting having both my kids visit for almost a week each in the same month. Next up is the future mother-in-law. She arrives for two days at the beginning of September. She isn’t staying with us, but I’ll be spending those days with her visiting rehearsal dinner venues, etc. Oh boy, the fun never ends around here.

Comments on: "I’m Walking on Sunshine" (5)

  1. I’m preparing to send my first one off to college… kind of dreading this moment as much as happy for my kid.
    And life goes on 🙂
    Happy to read things are back to normal with The Hunter!
    XO

    Liked by 1 person

    • Just remember that one of the best things a parent can do is to raise your child to be capable of going out in the world alone. I compare it to the tired analogy of baby birds taking flight and leaving the nest. It is oh, so true. Enjoy the fact that you raised a young adult capable of heading off to college. Congrats!!

      Like

  2. Madeline Harper said:

    I love this post, especially the line about mothering them all….I adore that feeling!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! It was so great. I had only met one of the guys before, so two were newbies. The Hunter was bemused. “You are loving this, aren’t you?” He finds them fascinating because he never hung out with the smart nerdy kids in school. He finds that he likes them a lot. It was a great night. Empty refrigerator the next day, but great night. LOL.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

