"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Getting to Know You

Getting to know you
Getting to know all about you
Getting to like you
Getting to hope you like me
Getting to know you

Getting to feel free and easy
When I am with you
Getting to know what to say

Richard Rodgers & Lorenz Hart from The King & I

This weekend I hosted a business event at a local festival. For some background on this event, you can click here for the drama that ensued last year. This year I enlisted the Hunter to help me pack up at the end of the day. We used this event for him to meet my girlfriends and for me to meet his sister. What a day!

I didn’t expect or want him to spend the whole day there. It’s a big crowd and I have a steady stream of folks coming by off and on all day, so I am the busy social butterfly. He arrived mid-afternoon, which was perfect. He ran into his sister as he was entering with his close friend, Teacher, and Teacher’s date (another friend of mine – small world just keeps getting smaller). I liked his sister (“Emily”). She is smart, attractive and we instantly bonded over the kids. Her son plays lacrosse at a private school and knew my son from a travel team. I knew her son’s coaches and a bevy of players, so we quickly found common ground. Emily is curious about me and asked questions about my kids. She later told the Hunter that she liked me.

I actually better understood Emily after meeting her. As I wrote here, the Hunter raised his son as a single parent and Emily was a very active godmother. She was in a position both economically and socially to help her nephew, so she did. Sometimes she did it without first checking with the Hunter, so that lead to some past problems. I had a taste of that yesterday when a discussion about a new car for Nino ensued. It is clear that Nino contributed to the misunderstandings by only providing partial information to both parties, but I digress.

Poor Hunter wasn’t feeling 100% and the night before he confessed his ambivalence. I know now that he is shy underneath his bravado. Meeting my girlfriends, clients, etc. at a large festival is daunting for many people, and he did just fine. One of my older girlfriends immediately set him straight, “We are so glad that Maggie is happy with you. Please keep her that way because she deserves it.” He later mentioned it during our evening recap and commented on the loyalty of my friends. One of my other girlfriends called me today to tell me how handsome she found him. He didn’t spend a lot of time with my girlfriends because he was exploring the festival with his son, Teacher, and sometimes me.

One of the funny moments for me was introducing him to a longtime business friend of mine. BC is a prominent attorney and former elected official. I didn’t tell the Hunter this and just casually introduced BC without dropping his last name. Apparently the Hunter and BC had a great chat about an issue that the Hunter is actively working on. Later the Hunter said, “I had no idea BC was, well, BC!” I laughed and said it was a better way to get to know BC (I was right, of course).

It was a very good day. The Hunter packed up my tent in about 10 minutes – I truly love this man’s ingenuity and work ethic. He definitely spoils me and I thoroughly enjoy it. When I got home, he unpacked my car and gently sent me off for a well-deserved shower. We sat on the patio and chatted for about a half hour. Then the Hunter looked me in the eye, held my hand and told me how much he cares about me. That he truly loves me and wants us to think about long-term plans together. He said, “Not marriage because I know that spooks you, but I want us to be together for the rest of our lives. Think about it.” I was touched, but didn’t say much. Then we scurried off to bed because we were both tired….but not too tired to have a wonderful romp in bed.

Last’s night’s sex was fabulous. He was attentive, loving and slowly took his time. I was quivering and had waves of orgasms. It was awesome. I later told him that it was perhaps the first time I considered our sex to be “making love” as opposed to something else. He laughed and said it was just because he was too tired for much else. I beg to differ – for the first time, the Hunter made love to me.

Comments on: "Getting to Know You" (5)

  1. This is such good news on so many fronts! This is on to a new higher, brighter, more intense relationship that appears to fit you very well. Yay!

    Like

    • Thank you for the words of encouragement! He is really making an effort to please me. We just finished creating a new resume for him, at his request, because there is a great job he wants to apply for. I’m impressed with his initiative. We will see how it goes…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Whether the post or the comments… I love what I read and am truly happy for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

