"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Happy

It might seem crazy what I’m about to say
Sunshine she’s here, you can take a break
I’m a hot air balloon that could go to space
With the air, like I don’t care baby by the way
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like a room without a roof
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like happiness is the truth
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you know what happiness is to you
Because I’m happy
Clap along if you feel like that’s what you wanna do

Pharrell Williams

On Saturday, the Hunter and I made a “Trail Angel” run for one of his close friends. Trail Angels are people who help out hikers with food, water or in other ways to make their trail life easier. This particular friend, Teacher, was on a 3-day bicycle trip with a seasoned, venerable hiker who we have all come to find out is also bat-shit crazy. Teacher sent a text message begging for wings and beer, so on Saturday early evening we set out for the rendezvous point. I almost didn’t go because we had just had a marathon sex session and I was feeling lazy. But since I had to get dressed to walk the dog, I decided what the heck. That was the right decision.

As we drive out to the meeting spot, Teacher is on the phone with the Hunter bitching up a storm about his trail partner. It was hilarious because the Hunter only got in about 10 words in a 20 minute conversation. We get out to the meeting spot and Teacher plowed into his wings and beer. As I sat on the truck’s tailgate, I drank a beer and ate a couple of wings to keep him company. Teacher took our picture and posted a sweet Facebook entry about us coming to his rescue with water, wings and beer. As he took the picture, the Hunter turned to me and said, “You know this photo will go viral”. He was right.

Sunday morning as we making our epic brunch, I got a call first from my daughter, “You look so happy.” Then I get a Facebook message from a long-time girlfriend. Our exchange made me cry. She started with, “I love how happy you look in all your pictures. It’s nice to see.” I respond with, “Aww. That means so much to me! He is making me very happy. My daughter just called and said the same thing.

My girlfriend goes on and causes my tears, “We (meaning she and her husband who I also adore) both love and appreciate everything you’ve done. You were always happy but…now you look happy and peaceful. You are one of the most awesome people I’ve ever known. Sorry to get all mushy but I know you’ve had some tough times and love that they are now behind you.” I am rendered teary eyed and speechless, so I mutely hand over my iPad to the Hunter so he can read the message.

It’s been interesting talking to the Hunter about my marriage. I realize now that I put up with way too much. There was no balance in our relationship, very little partnership. In comparison to my short-term time with the Hunter, it is night and day. I have let down my walls of resistance and the rewards are fabulous so far.

Comments on: "Happy" (6)

  1. I think it’s good you are writing all this down. It’s important to remember just what state you are really in with this relationship now and how happy it makes you. That everyone also notices really says something doesn’t it!

    Liked by 2 people

    • I don’t know if it’s the end of a bad marriage, great sex or a healthy relationship or a combo of all. A longtime co-worker who hadn’t seen me in about a year today said I look much younger. She thinks it’s the release of marital stress. That struck a chord with me. I find it fascinating how many people are noticing. Makes me wonder how haggard I must have appeared!

      Like

  2. Well… gives me something to look forward to, one day 🙂
    And that makes me… Happy 🙂

    Yes, really happy for you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. […] mid-afternoon, which was perfect. He ran into his sister as he was entering with his close friend, Teacher, and Teacher’s date (another friend of mine – small world just keeps getting smaller). I liked […]

    Like

  4. […] weekend we needed to have a day-long fuck fest.  Then we were invited to go hiking on Saturday with the Teacher and his current squeeze.  Once I learned where and how long the hike was, I tapped out. […]

    Like

  5. […] we needed to have a day-long fuck fest.  Then we were invited to go hiking on Saturday with the Teacher and his current squeeze.  Once I learned where and how long the hike was, I tapped out. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

