"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

I Got You (I Feel Good)

Wo! I feel good, I knew that I wouldn’t of
I feel good, I knew that I wouldn’t of
So good, so good, I got you

Wo! I feel nice, like sugar and spice
I feel nice, like sugar and spice
So nice, so nice, I got you

When I hold you in my arms
I know that I can do no wrong
and when I hold you in my arms
My love won’t do you no harm

James Brown

My last post ended with a cliffhanger of a post-breakup dinner with the Hunter to see if we could patch things up. The comment section tells you the answer – yes, we did patch things up and I feel even better about our relationship. I’m not sooo scared of what is happening.

On Wednesday, we had a heart-to-heart talk over dinner. We got everything out in the open. He asked questions about what actually did occur on Sunday at the festival. It was a good conversation and he requested a new rule with me – when I am out with the girls/friends, I must turn off my phone. Hey, I am all about censorship in this instance and agreed readily. Drunk texting has never done me any favors.

The air is cleared between us with some caveats that I need to stop sabotaging things, we need to go on some out-of-the-house dates (that’s mine) and just general candid conversation. I think both of us were pleasantly surprised that this entire hour long conversation had no raised voices, no short tempers – it was very calm, mature, measured, and thoughtful. I for one was incredibly pleased and relieved since any of these types of conversations with the ex ended up with me in tears, him screaming – ugh. Just all very unpleasant.

Now that relationship business is out of the way, he scooped me up and we hit the bedroom…hard. The sex was outstanding. For him, it was the best yet. The Hunter has got some serious game and is a tremendous amount of fun. He asked me if I wanted angry make-up sex or sweet loving make-up sex. How many guys would think to ask you that? He did, so we decide to try both and see which we prefer. It was awesome. Absolutely awesome.

On Thursday I had a work cocktail event, so with the lesson learned about not having him come over later (makes me feel pressured, like I have a curfew), we didn’t get see each other until Friday. He brought a great take-out dinner over and we had the MOST romantic evening. We turned off the lights, fired up some candles, we drank some wine, I have soft music playing. It was wonderful. We ended up dancing after dinner. It was just a great sensual evening. The sex was once again amazing.

The Hunter is really into me. He tells me all the time and he is dropping the L-word into conversation. “I feel a lot of love for you in my heart.” He’s patient. He says it and then gives me time to digest this.

We all know that I am concerned about the income disparity between us. He is too and on Friday in the midst of our romantic evening, we had yet another serious conversation about this. He brought it up. He told me that he knows that he needs to step it up in order to keep me, and he has ideas on how to go about that. The Hunter knows that he will eventually be meeting people in my world and knows that his current job doesn’t cut it. That makes him nervous about meeting my people. This became evident on Saturday night.

On Saturday, there was a jazz concert nearby that I really wanted to go see. It was Brazilian jazz that I was introduced to by my ex. Yes, it is a bit weird to take the current guy to listen to music related to the former, but whatever, it worked out fine. The concert was great. We smuggled in a bottle of wine. He was actually a bit nervous that perhaps we would meet friends of mine. We didn’t and he relaxed.

At this moment, I am happy. I am happy with him and I am putting aside my concerns for now because in the light of day they seem more like excuses than reasons founded in substance. We shall see where this part of my journey goes, but for now I am walking through the woods with the Hunter and I feel safe and secure.

Comments on: "I Got You (I Feel Good)" (5)

  1. Yippie! I’m so happy for you!
    Enjoy. Any problems that arise shoudl be taken care of when they do. Don’t waste your time and energy worrying about them now. Financial disparity? So what? Who cares how much he makes as long as he likes his job and isn’t dependant on you? Oh well, I know, maybe I’m a bit too much of the optimist. But seriously: money will only become a problem if you make it one 🙂
    XO

    Like

    • The money issue comes with the point of him not being able to take me places I am accustomed to, his discomfort in my social circles. I’ll write more about this because we are also discovering that we have, at certain points, run parallel lives….but never crossed paths before now.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Looking forward to reading more about it. I do understand the fact that he canot take you to places you are accustmed to. But you can take him, am I mistaken? So this is a matter of both of you getting over your egos, not anything to do with money.
        As for him being unomfortable in your social circles, I think his level of comfort will derive from how comfortable you make him feel in these circles. If you are meant to live a love story with this guy and your circles are not able to accept him as he is, then maybe they are not really friends you want to keep in touch with 🙂
        And maybe you can ask him what would help him feel more comfortable in these circles. MAybe it’s you staying by him for a while when he first meets new friends of yours, to offer him reassurance that if anyone were to even consider judging him, you would put them in their place. Or maybe it is giving him information about the various people you may meet in advance, so he can research a little bit into their interests. See how to best present his own interests to better fit into this world instead of feeling awkward.
        I’m just typing things as they come to mind, so don’t put too much attention into them. I also need to go to sleep.
        But what I mean is: if you love the guy and he loves you, you will find ways together 🙂

        Like

      • Oh I will be writing about all of this. I have no worries about how to introduce him to my friends and business colleagues. We can’t hide forever. This weekend his best friend has a birthday party. At the end of March I have my second biggest work event and he’s excited about attending.

        As for me paying, that won’t fly with him. He wants to take care of me. We will figure out –at least the communication is open enough to handle these touchy issues.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I agree, the most important thing is that communication is open. Men’s ego is a funny thing. They have no problm imagining that women should welcome being taken care off by a better off partner, but won’t accept that if the person earning more is the woman, it should be the other way round. Ok, I’ll admit that society isn’t helping much.
        But since there is communication and he is willing to find a solution, that is all you can hope for for now 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

