"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

I’m Coming Out

I’m coming out
I want the world to know
Got to let it show
I’m coming out
I want the world to know
I got to let it show

There’s a new me coming out
And I just had to live
And I wanna give
I’m completely positive
I think this time around
I am gonna do it
Like you never knew it
Ooh, I’ll make it through

Diana Ross

I have made mention of my goal to have a Sober January. It has been a hot topic on my Facebook page and amongst others in my life. I have found the comments and feedback of others very interesting. First, let me disclose my typical imbibing to put things into context. On a typical week, I will have at most probably 4 drinks and it’s usually either wine or vodka, so clearly I am a moderate drinker without an issue to be addressed.

I put this NPR article up on my Facebook which discusses if a month of alcohol abstinence really has that much of a benefit. The answer is yes. Some friends and co-workers joined my pledge; some have done it for up to a year. But who is commenting the most?  Men with one man in particular, a European guy that is my age from my hiking group. Damn, this hiking group is really paying off. Off Facebook, Don Juan has weighed in that he is joining me and previously he has gone five years without a drink. Our date this week is getting more interesting by the day. My boss had a 10-year dry spell while his daughter was growing up. He wanted to be a healthy role model for her. Now, look out!

Here are my reasons behind my Sober January:
1) Great way to knock off those few extra holiday pounds. I need something to kick start the final weight push for me. Foregoing alcohol is a great option and it’s working. I have dropped 8 pounds since January 1st.
2) Saying no to a drink is a great willpower exercise. I need to strengthen my willpower and this is an effective way to do so. Men love this reason, by the way.

In any case, the lively dialogue on this topic of alcohol abstinence has made me think about my lackadaisical approach to the remaining weight I want to lose. I have been mucking around for a couple of months without a concerted effort. It’s time to focus; it’s time to Make Shit Happen (my 2015 Mantra). Therefore, I am making a commitment of NO ALCOHOL until I lose the weight. It gives me an incentive to get to the finish line while being a healthy new habit.  I did have a dream last night about a lovely glass of red wine….NO, I will stay strong!

Any of you abstaining this month? Have you tried this? Want to join me because it is never too late!

As for the intro song, let me dig a little more on why I chose this song.  To date I have lost over 41 pounds since I separated from my ex.  I have dropped four dress sizes in 1-1/2 years.  I look great and more importantly I feel great, even though I’m working on the final 13 pounds of belly and butt fat.  It is such a boost to my self-confidence and sexuality, that I can hardly put words to it.  So in keeping with my 2015 Mantra of Make Shit Happen and in the words of this intro song (with my comments in parenthesis),

There’s a new me coming out (a much smaller me)
And I just had to live (under my terms)
And I wanna give
I’m completely positive (about my life and my journey)
I think this time around
I am gonna do it (lose the weight, find true love)
Like you never knew it (amen, Sister!)
Ooh, I’ll make it through

And in the words of the unforgettable John Belushi

Who's With Me?!

Who’s With Me?!

Comments on: "I’m Coming Out" (10)

  1. Unfortunately, this would never work for me. I typically drink 20 drinks a year, max!
    For me, actually, starting to drink is regaining my power. By that I mean that before I’d drink maybe 5-10 drinks a year. It’s part of letting go.
    About the weight… One day I’ll gt there. As soon as I can stop the antidepressants, that should help too.
    But I say good for you. I don’t think I will ever lose the 40 pounds I would need to lose to get back to my pre-pregancy weight. I am not sure I want to. I’m pretty sure that it would do nothing to my stretch marks. I am starting to accept me for who I am and it’s actually quite liberating to see that, even like this, I am still attractive enough to have men want me, contrary to what I heard for so long in my marriage. I need to reclaim that before I can do something. If I were to lose the weight now, I fear I would be doing it to ‘be attractive to men’, rather than for myself. I don’t want to have men define how I act any more. Even if they are not aware of it 😉
    Good luck to you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! All of this “re-calibrating” of my body is 100% for me – the men are a lovely side affect. For me, it is about a healthier lifestyle of better food choices, smaller portions and just moving my body. I saw my mother-in-law trapped in her weak, frail body just because she wouldn’t do minimal exercise.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I understand all too well. My Grandma was like that. It was a vicious circle. She was afraid of the pain when moving so she didn’t move, her muscles became atrophied, thus making it more painful to walk…
        I am happy to report that my excercise level ol is constantly increasing since my injury got better. But I know I still need to make some changes. When I am strong enough to fight that battle too, maybe when the children are older and not so dependent any more 🙂

        Like

      • I can’t wait any longer to whip my body into shape. I have also discovered that exercise is a great stress reliever for me. Previously I would turn to food. I still do that on occasion, but first I try to work up a sweat and get my heart rate up to break down my anxiety. Even right now with a nagging muscle strain in my ass (my doctor is amused with my descriptions of where the pain resides), I still get my cardio and stretching classes in. Unfortunately my beloved cardio kick boxing has to be tabled for now. Today is the anniversary of my mother-in-law’s death. May she rest in peace and I miss her still.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I guess when it becomes a priority I’ll get to it too. For now I’m trying to get back to activities I enjoy. Walking, ski, roller skate, horseback riding, and when the weather allows maybe some diving… If finances allow that too 😉
        I enjoy not so much getting my heart rate up as being outside in nature. Or dance. Maybe I should start using my Wii fit again 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  2. sassygirl40 said:

    That’s great progress so far and a very achievable goal! When I needed to drop my final 10 lbs in the fall of 2012 I cut out all alcohol and I also cut out carbs after 3 PM. Breakfast and lunch could contain a moderate amount of carbs but none after 3 PM. That plus exercise gave me really flat abs!
    Good luck! You’ll reach your goal soon I am betting!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. 20 lbs in that timeframe is impressive. I’ve learned that the stronger my willpower, the better my life.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

