"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Something

Something in the way she moves
Attracts me like no other lover
Something in the way she woos me

I don’t want to leave her now
You know I believe and how

Somewhere in her smile she knows
That I don’t need no other lover
Something in her style that shows me

Don’t want to leave her now
You know I believe and how

You’re asking me will my love grow
I don’t know, I don’t know
You stick around now it may show
I don’t know, I don’t know

Something in the way she knows
And all I have to do is think of her
Something in the things she shows me

Don’t want to leave her now
You know I believe and how

Beatles

Yesterday when I realized that I would be downtown at the end of the day, I texted Don Juan who lives nearby to let him know I would be in the area. He was happy to invite me over. It ended up being a great evening. Don Juan played the guitar and sang to me after our romp. He started with “Up on the Roof” by James Taylor and ended with the song above.

The evening was a sexy one for me. I climbed on his lap and we cranked things up in the living room before heading back to the bed. If I think my work is stressful, his is more. We were having a drink and chatting about it when I arrived. The stress gave him some performance issues but we sidestepped them. Both of us got into the moment. He made sure that I was satisfied and, in turn, I was patient so he ended up cuming. We are learning more and more what turns the other on. He’s asking, I’m asking – the communication continues to expand. I’m learning to communicate what I want and praise the good stuff. He asked me to spend the night, but my son is staying with me, so that’s not an option. I was flattered. I needed to hang around a little to see if my son needed a ride, so we climbed out of bed and Don Juan grabbed his guitar.

I have never had a man sing to me. Don Juan is good, very good. He was in a band during his youth. Here I sit on the couch with a glass of red wine and Don Juan singing to me. Thankfully the lights were low and his head turned away because tears began streaming down my face. Tears continue to pour right now as I write this. Why? I think because of the wonder of having a man think I am so worthy of such a romantic act. It overwhelms me.

He asks me what I want him to play. I ask him for Van Morrison. Then he plays something else and asks for another from me. It’s the final song because I have to go, so I tell him to pick one for me. He picks “Something” and tells me that Frank Sinatra said it was one of the best love songs of all time and Don Juan agrees.

What the heck is going on here? This relationship is evolving into something surprising. It’s definitely more than just sex, but we don’t communicate every day so it’s hard for me to determine his feelings and mine for that matter. We continue to find common ground in many things. I enjoy our time together both in and out of the bedroom.  We have talked about his kids but not his marriage. He’s 8 years older than me, married and leaves next week for a month. Oh dear, oh dear –what am I doing?  At the end of the day, he picked the perfect song because perhaps it tells me all I need to know in such a simple, beautiful way.

Comments on: "Something" (12)

  1. I don’t have time to read the whole post right now, but I needed to say how I love this song.
    Now it’s stuck in my head. Thank you 🙂

    Happy Thanksgiving to you!

    Like

  2. Happy Thanksgiving Maggie! I love this post. Is it my imagination, or are you thinking deeper issues here than maybe your thoughts have addressed before?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hmm…yeah a few things to sort out, my dear. It’s not easy!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. All I can say is enjoy the ride. Let the tears fall, it is good to feel loved, even if just for an moment. And enjoy the time together. Live in the now. When the future wants to make itself known to you, it will find a way.
    Even if nothing were to come out of this relationship because of the constraints, you would still have had these wonderful experiences of being serenaded to, of feeling worthy of it. I know exactly how you must have felt. It feels good to know that a man can give you more than what we got in our marriages, isn’t it? Knowing where these things lead is always difficult and sometimes, when we are trying to think too hard on it, we end up in doubt, and messing things up. I say just go with it as long as it brings you comfort and joy. The day it stops bringing you that, you can discuss it with him. And take it from there at that moment.
    Big hug my friend. And Happy Thanksgiving. Think of me tomorrow morning, I’ll need all the emotional support I can get…

    Like

    • Thank you for your thoughtful comment. My plan is to just live in the moment for now. He leaves on Wednesday for a month so there is no point in having some big “talk” — it can all wait for now. I just want to see him one more time before his departure.

      Big hug to you and I’ll be thinking of you tomorrow. Stay strong!!

      Like

      • I agree, no point in any big talk for now. Hope you get to see him once more before he leaves 🙂
        And you’ll be happy to know that I did stay strong. At least when it was important. I broke down a little after the fact, but only when I was safe with a friend and he couldn’t see us. Thanks for the supporting words 🙂

        Like

      • I am so happy to hear that you successfully navigated Thanksgiving! Congrats!! I’m still working a weekend of encounters with my ex and the kids. So far so good!!!

        Like

      • Oh, there was no Thanksgiving for me. It’s not celebrated where I am now. It was something much further reaching than that… I’m going to try and write about it now 🙂
        Good luck with the remainder of the weekend 🙂

        Like

  5. I absolutely love this song.
    I can also understand all questions and doubts that might cross our minds as the intensity in any type of relationship increases, but at least, the present is making you happy 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • My thought process is to just ride the ride. He leaves this week for his month-long trip so I won’t see him until January. In my dating world, that could be a very long time. So for now I’ll just take it one day at a time.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

