"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

You can’t judge an apple by looking at the tree,
You can’t judge honey by looking at the bee,
You can’t judge a daughter by looking at the mother,
You can’t judge a book by looking at the cover.

[Chorus]
Oh can’t you see,
Oh, well, you misjudge me.
I look like a farmer,
But I’m a lover

Bo Diddley

I mentioned in an earlier post that I had two losers from Plenty of Fish dish out their dysfunctional crap on me this weekend.  This guy wins second place for the week.

I start with an easy intro message:

I enjoyed reading your profile. Please check out mine, and if you are interested, please send me a message. We live reasonably close to one another.

So here comes Reject Rex:

Thanks for the kind words and interest. We seem to share similar ideas. Particularly the part about enjoying a “frosty beverage” (loooove fruity drinks!!), and preferring not to sit across from each other on a first meet only to then engage in mindless trivial conversation simply to avoid silence.

Although we think along the same lines, I think our lifestyles do not run parallel. What I am really looking for is someone athletic who lives the same healthy lifestyle I choose to live, and has made exercising a daily part of her everyday routine. Of course, it would be important that she participate in the same physical activities that I do: swim, bike, run, yoga, weight training…. Compatibility is at the top of my list of what is needed to maintain a long term relationship.
Thanks again.

Really? Seriously – how the heck does he know anything about me to make those statements? So being in a pissy mood, I fire back:

Thanks for the response. I would suggest that you might want to ask a few more questions before making assumptions about someone’s lifestyle. I’ll be on a 6-mile hike in XXX tomorrow and try to hit the gym 5 days a week for cardio kick boxing and other classes. Yes, I am a work in progress, but aren’t we all? Best of luck in your search.

Then he gets in the last word:

Should be a beautiful day for a walk in the Park. Enjoy….

I need to stop being so nice and really put my bitch hat on, but I doubt it’s worth the energy or time.

Comments on: "Can’t Judge A Book by Its Cover" (8)

  1. I agree totally. Forget the effort to put on that hat. It’s not worth the effort.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Will Carrier said:

    There are loads of cover-judges out there and quite sadly, they outnumber those of us who enjoy devouring and gently turning the pages that lie in between.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Definitely not worth your time. It’s better spent enjoying your hike 🙂
    Or humping the next guy who won’t be such a jerk and will know to appreciate you to your fullest 😉
    Ugh, I got into one of those joust, though not about dating but I gave up, I don’t think the guy is worth any more of my time either…

    Like

  4. I recently started the online dating thing and I’ve also noticed that most of the men want an “athletic and toned” or “slender” woman – something I’m not (yet). However, I also noticed myself flipping through my matches – nope, too heavy; nope, he likes motorcycles; nope, he’s too old. I occurred to me that I was displaying the same, shallow behavior that upset me about these men who obviously rate arm candy higher than a real relationship. It made me reevaluate my behavior and goals.

    Like

    • Thanks for your thoughtful comment. You raise a great point. I am learning not to focus so much on the body type. For me it is all about the smile – they need to be smiling in their photos. I agree we are all judging one another, but do he have to tell me with such….candor?

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

