"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Mondays Suck (Again)

I get knocked down
But I get up again
You’re never gonna keep me down
I get knocked down
But I get up again
You’re never gonna keep me down

Chumbawamba

There are times in your life that you have to pause and just say, WTF. What the hell is going on here? Once again, I had a shitty Monday. What the hell? That same person who tried to resign when I returned from vacation really resigned once and for all today without any notice period this time. Add to that the financial issues the organization faces, then a very, very expensive trip to the eye doctor, plus nothing but complaints and issues from clients and the day was crappy. Then I looked at my sales pipeline and my blood ran cold.

I have a call with my business coach today to insure that I’m on track. I am not sure that I am, so I need to double down and get serious about work. This whole divorce thing has its tremendous upsides, but now I am facing the downside – single income as opposed to dual income. I am on 100% commission, so I eat what I kill and my business is a tough one. My current pipeline is weighted to one untrustworthy client and two crazy deals. Not how I typically like to stack my deck.

So what is going my way? Well, my sex life for once. I have a guy who flew in from another continent who is anxious to meet me. We will have lunch either tomorrow or Wednesday depending on my schedule. Add to that a new guy on Thursday morning (I’ll tell you about him afterwards) and then Don Juan is anxious to see me again on Sunday immediately upon my return from a business/fun trip. Round it out with a trip next weekend to see HR who will be arriving in the state next week and that area of my life is fully satisfied.

I am glad that some stability is entering my love life so I can return my focus to my business. My boss and I are sitting down next week to discuss new business pursuits and other company matters. I’ve been in this profession for 20+ years with over half of them in a straight commission setting, so I know that I’ll be fine and that I can do this. I just hate potholes and detours – they always slow me down and make me a little nervous.

Comments on: "Mondays Suck (Again)" (7)

  1. It’s great to have one thing looking really promising:D

    Like

  2. I say….focus on the positives! I for one and trying very hard to ignore the one income thing….

    Like

  3. I relate to so much here. Divorce, financial slump… At least sex isn’t going too bad 😉
    We’ll make it, because we’re survivors! (at least that’s the way I want to look at it!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

