"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Ask

Shyness is nice, and
Shyness can stop you
From doing all the things in life
You’d like to

So, if there’s something you’d like to try
If there’s something you’d like to try
ASK ME – I WON’T SAY “NO” – HOW COULD I?

The Smiths

I wrote about Normal Guy (NG) recently and decided not to ask him to join me on my upcoming trip. Instead I waited out the week to see if he would contact me. Since my week was so incredibly insane, I was willing to give anyone a break when it comes to initiating contact. On Sunday, I decided, “what the hell” and sent him the following email:

I don’t know about you, but my post-vacation week was ridiculous. You have been on my mind because I thought we had a great time on our date. As you have probably realized, I’m a very open, honest person (probably too much) and I wanted to put my cards on the table.
– I am not looking for a boyfriend at this stage of my life. Having said that, a FWB is great and I’m not looking for any type of exclusivity because I can’t do that at this point anyway.
– obviously I find you attractive or else I wouldn’t have invited you down for a thinly disguised booty call ( LOL) when I returned.
– in addition to sex (let’s just be honest), I would like someone to go out with. But we are both busy, so I’m not demanding of time. I like my free time too, but sometimes it’s fun to spend an evening with a guy rather than my girlfriends.
So I am just putting this out there. Ball is in your court and hopefully you are reading this and feeling flattered. You should 🙂
All the best,
Maggie May

He responded that evening with the following:
Hey Maggie,
You are a very nice person and your honesty is very refreshing. Booked this week but will reach out to you next week and see what is possible.
Warmest regards,
NG

Ok, that is cool. I got the desired response. But I really want to know why EVERYONE describes me as nice. Nice, really? I was in a meeting yesterday where I thought I was being a complete bitch and even my junior colleague said I wasn’t. She said I was nice (there’s that damn word again) but firm and professional. Hmmm, maybe I am nice. Anyway, you know I simply cannot resist tempting fate, so I reply (after waiting about an hour):

Thanks and fair enough.
I am my daughter’s designated driver to a bachelorette party in ___ this weekend. The stories I will have…. In any case, I’ll be there Friday & Saturday in a crazy town avoiding a bunch of drunken former sorority girls. Boy, this is gonna be awesome….I’m trying to figure out my extortion fee for not sharing pix with her boyfriend….
I look forward to hearing from you. So now that you’ve seen my nice side, I wonder what you will think of the naughty side 😉
Ciao,
Maggie

It will be interesting to see if he pounces on this or if I have made it too easy for him. My grand experiments in mid-aged dating. In the meantime, I had a big surprise this afternoon. Skittish pinged me with, “just saying hi”. I responded back with “Hi! Great to hear from you. I’ve been thinking about you 🙂  All good things.” Once again, he’s gone dark, but that’s encouraging. He’ll be back and he’s hot.

Comments on: "Ask" (4)

  1. Yeah “nice”. I’d be bothered by the “Warmest regards”. Sounds like the start of a “nice” business relationship.

    Like

  2. Haha, his prior response to me via email was “Best”. Like I’ve said before, he’s a numbers guy not a wordsmith like perhaps…..you 🙂 Your insight is always welcome nice.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well actually I’m a numbers guy. This writing stuff obviously doesn’t come very naturally to me. But I’m working at it. So I don’t buy letting him off the hook.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

