"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Life Lessons

Life’s lessons
So you think you know it all
But you’re headin’ for a fall
Ooh to make it back again
You’ll have to crawl and step back
Take a look around
Are your feet still on the ground

Lynyrd Skynyrd 

This past week has really put some things in perspective for me. Here we go:

Life Lesson 1:   Get your shit together. My daughter’s mentor who died at the age of 38 (she would have been 39 on Saturday which is when we had her memorial service), left behind an 11-year-old daughter. M was never married to the father, who has a long history of issues that generally make him an unfit parent. Now M’s family will have to fight for custody. They don’t have the finances or the aptitude for this fight.  My daughter and I had a conversation about living wills, wills and taking care of me in my old age. The next 12 months are going to be spent getting my affairs in order so I am not creating problems for myself or others.

Life Lesson 2: Stuff Clutters Your Life. I went over to my old house where the ex is frantically trying to get rid of the crap from our 25+ years of life together. I pulled some of the kids’ stuff to hang on for them and then grabbed a few random things. Basically a car load. He has the contents of a 3,000 sq ft house to liquidate since he is moving into a 1,100 sq ft condo tomorrow. I looked at all this stuff and realized that none of it matters. None of it. Today I could have walked out with empty hands and been absolutely fine.

Life Lesson 3: Survival is Success. This is very, very pertinent in my business. Another way of saying this is Showing Up is Success, which means you keep going because so many people in my business world fail and if I keep putting one foot in front of the other, I’ll be fine. Very true. It is also applicable at home. Sometimes just getting to the end is a success – like the awful cardio kick boxing class on Monday that left my quads screaming for the rest of the week. My reward: my daughter raved at how great and fit I look.

Life Lesson 4: Listening is More Important than Talking. I am rarely at a loss for words. I am one of those people that talks to everyone in the grocery line, makes friends in elevators…you get the idea. This week involved a lot of listening because I was dealing with a shit storm of problems. Listening to my business colleagues, my clients, my non-profit board members, my AM overnight guest and most importantly, listening to my daughter. My daughter is 24 yrs old and she has to decide, with strong conviction, her life’s future in the next couple of months. It is time for her to think about residency programs. We have had multiple conversations and she is leaning towards a field that is 85% men. Interestingly, my profession has the same gender demographics, so I can relate, but it’s time for me to listen first and talk later.

The coming week is another packed week. I look at my calendar and cringe. There is no way I can keep up with the flow of paperwork. I have intense meetings out of the office every day. Plus I am insane enough to schedule meeting not one but two AM guys this week. One of them I can’t find his photos, but I’m sure he’s fine since he made it to my email. Anybody not up to standards would have been kicked to the curb long ago. Hey, YOLO!!

Comments on: "Life Lessons" (2)

  1. Good thing you enforce those standards. Otherwise it could be “oh-oh” time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

