"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

]ust Take My Chances

All your life you had to stand in line
Still you’re standing on your feet
All your choices made you change your mind
Now your calender’s complete
Don’t wait for answers
Just take your chances
Don’t ask me why

Billy Joel

So after a miserable Monday (if you are a glutton for punishment, you can read about it here), all of the bullshit reminded me that at these times, I am somewhat alone with limited people to vent to. After a vacation week where I had very little alone time, returning home has put me squarely in the solo square. I don’t necessarily mind; I enjoy my solitude and love having the time to recharge my batteries. However, my solo status is being highlighted by a quick getaway next weekend. My daughter is flying in for a bachelorette party that will be held about 3 hours from home. She’s too young to rent a car, so I volunteered to be her designated driver. Happily she was thrilled with the idea. It means an expensive hotel for two nights and seeing if I can round up a girlfriend to hang with me. It would be great if I had a guy to go with – this is a fun spot (has to be for a bachelorette party), but I don’t have anyone at that stage. There is the Normal AM Guy, but perhaps it’s a bit premature with him.

Normal Guy (NG) has been separated for 3 years (yes, we have discussed this). We met through AM (of course). Our first and only date was before I left on vacation. It was a leisurely  2-1/2 hour early dinner in a people-watching area of town. He brought his dog (asked beforehand), who was cool and well-behaved. It was a great date. He looked me in the eye with clear interest and we had a sexy kiss good-night when he walked me to my car. Then, I left on vacation. I sent him two emails to which he responded nicely albeit succinctly. Since he’s a numbers guy, I don’t read anything into his brevity. I was SO horny returning from vacation that I sent him an email to see if he wanted to get together for dinner or wine/movie night. He couldn’t because he was returning from a trip as well (oh yeah, I had forgotten), but he was nice and said not to hesitate with last minute ideas. NG was also trolling on AM this afternoon, but who am I to talk when I’m up on that site every day. The cool thing on AM is that women can set their profile to appear offline. I like that – stealth.

So do I say, WTF, and invite this guy? He hasn’t initiated a second date, but I have been out of town.  He’ll have to drive separately – I don’t want to explain to my daughter that this guy in the car is my booty call. Besides, I’m going to get 6 hours of uninterrupted time with my extremely busy daughter – I don’t want to share. It would be two nights – bold for both of us, but you know YOLO. I have learned that if I don’t ask, I don’t get. So I think my plan will be to ask two girlfriends, and if neither can go, then NG is next.  The downside:  either he doesn’t go and then I’ll back away completely so he can make the next move or we go and it sucks.  The upside:  company and great sex in a fun town. Thoughts?

Comments on: "]ust Take My Chances" (3)

  1. Hmmm I’m not usually this conservative, but my initial thought is you need to know NG better before an overnight. Your priority is your daughter on this excursion anyway. How fair is that to him anyway?

    Like

    • Agreed. I could probably use the downtime, but I’ll be in a fun, party town alone which screams loser to my conceited inner teenager. I was thinking about inviting him to dinner this weekend either out or at my place to see if there is a connection. Perhaps I need to move over to the slow lane. I’ve called two girlfriends, got a room with 2 beds, so I’m making plans for GF not FWB. I’ll take a breath and give it time.

      Like

  2. […] wrote about Normal Guy (NG) recently and decided not to ask him to join me on my upcoming trip. Instead I waited out the week […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

