"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Manic Monday

It’s just another manic Monday
I wish it were Sunday
‘Cause that’s my fun day
My I don’t have to run day
It’s just another manic Monday

Bangles

I get back from a lovely 10-day vacation to have reality slap me in the face. Was it the 27+ voice mails I have yet to tackle? Or was it the 9 am executive board meeting of a faltering non-profit that I chair where the executive director effectively resigned. Perhaps it was the dermatologist having a meltdown over an irregular mole on my back that she wants to biopsy immediately. She asked me four times if melanoma runs in my family. Surely, it’s the shady client who is trying to screw my firm out of a low six-figure fee. Nope, the worse reality slap was one of my daughter’s childhood mentors dying of breast cancer today at the age of 42, leaving behind a teen-age daughter.

In the face of this tsunami of misery, I went to the gym for an evening cardio boxing class and I’ll be back there Tuesday morning to do it again. I am focusing on the positive and developing an effective To Do list to keep my 30+ projects moving along towards the finish line. Sometime this week, I will pull the photos of this lovely young woman so I can share them at her memorial service this weekend. Hopefully I can pull them together into a book for her daughter. This woman was a big part of my daughter’s life for more than 10 years. Rest in peace, dear sister, you will be sorely missed. Mondays suck.

Comments on: "Manic Monday" (4)

  1. Life is just like that, isn’t it. It rocks. Then it rolls.

    Like

  2. […] after a miserable Monday (if you are a glutton for punishment, you can read about it here), all of the bullshit reminded me that at these times, I am somewhat alone with limited people to […]

    Like

  3. […] say, WTF. What the hell is going on here? Once again, I had a shitty Monday. What the hell? That same person who tried to resign when I returned from vacation really resigned once and for all today without any notice period this […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

