"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Urgent

You’re not shy, you get around
You wanna fly, don’t want your feet on the ground
You stay up, you won’t come down
You wanna live, you wanna move to the sound

Got fire in your veins
Burnin’ hot but you don’t feel the pain
Your desire is insane
You can’t stop until you do it again

Foreigner

Sexual maturity. According to Wikipedia, Sexual maturity is the age or stage when an organism can reproduce. It is sometimes considered synonymous with adulthood. In humans, the process of sexually maturing is termed puberty.

My recent obsession with sex has been a little surprising to me. I spent so many years hiding my sexuality and keeping it at bay, that this awakening makes me feel like an over-sexed kid. I was discussing this with my GF and came up with my own theory.

A couple of years ago, I was talking to a criminal justice professor. She was working with male prisoners who were becoming eligible for parole after more than 20 years in prison. She said that for these men, the age they were incarcerated was their emotional age when they were released. A 50-year-old man could be about 20 years old emotionally upon release.  It dawned on me, as I chatted with my GF, that I was in the same situation. I was locked into a relationship that didn’t allow me to sexually mature. Now I’m free, I have lost a lot of weight and feel really good about myself both mentally and physically. It has sent my hormones surging.

I just read an interesting article at greatist.com. Here’s a key quote:
Unsurprisingly, the idea that men and women have specific, but different, sexual peaks is pretty outdated. Regardless of hormonal maturity or concentrations, both men and women reach their sexual peak when they’re most comfortable with their own bodies and sexuality. And because hormones and relationships change throughout life, a so-called sexual peak can come at any time or age. Also, maintaining a healthy lifestyle can have a significant impact on sexual pleasure and performance [1]. According to Greatist Expert Dr. James Hardeman, regular exercise, a balanced diet, and not smoking can make psychological and physiological sexual peaks last longer.

It is all making sense. Eventually I need to get myself out of the one-night-stand rut and into some form of committed relationship(s) so I can continue my sexual growth. I am not looking for another husband, God forbid. But having a good FWB would do me a world of good.

Comments on: "Urgent" (2)

  1. Hmmm interesting about the sexual peak details. I wonder if it is possible to reach a sexual peak multiple times in life. I’m thinking yes.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

