"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

I am the Champion

I’ve paid my dues
Time after time.
I’ve done my sentence
But committed no crime.
And bad mistakes ‒
I’ve made a few.
I’ve had my share of sand kicked in my face
But I’ve come through.

We are the champions, my friends,
And we’ll keep on fighting ’til the end.
We are the champions.

Queen

It’s time for the post-game analysis and recap of my football weekend.  First and foremost, it was a big, huge, fantastic win for several reasons.  It’s a 5-hour drive home and I have to admit that I LOVE the drive.  I crank up the tunes and speed whenever possible.  It just frees my mind to digest things and this weekend produced things that needed lots of processing.

First and foremost on my mind has been my Threesome – absolutely no regrets.  You read about it here.  That put me in the best frame of mind for dealing with my ex the entire weekend.

Second, the ex – if it was a football game, I kicked his ass on points.  First,  I had made my plans months ago, so although my son didn’t remember the date exactly, it was clearly my weekend.  Then I had the better hotel that offers free shuttle service to the game, is in walking distance of all the best restaurants and bars.  I made plans for two tailgate parties, had girlfriends joining me, scored an extra ticket from one.  I just generally planned my weekend far better than him.  His brother and nephew could only come for the game and not to party with him so he was flying very solo.  OK, these are petty points, but hey, I can be petty sometimes.

My son was thrilled to see me and I arrived with two ties just in time for his pledge dinner.  It rescued not only him but one of his roommates because they needed a specific school color and neither had that color.  He had not asked for them, I just figured he could use them.  It got me a “most amazing mom ever” text.  Then he and I had a great lunch on game day (it was a night game).  The Son Visit aspect was exceptional — I am very proud of him.  He’s happy at school and doing great.  My non-planning ex had no choice but to join us for lunch when he arrived in town.  Then he crashed one of my tailgate parties because it was thrown by one of Son’s high school teachers.  Meh, whatever.

Twice on Saturday, he commented to me that I looked really good.  Even his brother agreed.  HA!  What he was seeing was a post-orgasmic glow that he  never produced in me.  I did look good, felt great and apparently I am still oozing sexuality.

Now the other thoughts to process are how others will view my Ashley Madison activity.  I was with two married women, one divorced and another never-been-married.  Since most didn’t know my current marital status, I updated them and then we got into the discussion of affairs (trust me, I didn’t bring it up).  Obviously married women want to spit on cheaters.  I pointed out that affairs are symptoms of bigger problems.  They agreed, but….  It is a warning.  I also know that my boss HATES cheaters — his parents split when his father was caught.  I need to make sure my post-sexual euphoria is controlled (as in my sometimes big mouth).  Plus as The Woman Invisible points out, she started AM for the same reasons I am and her situation has ended with heartache.

I’ll write another post about my affair early on in my marriage.  I keep threatening to do so, and I think it will help me put things into context for what I’m looking for in this stage.  In the meantime, I’ll savor my victory….

Comments on: "I am the Champion" (5)

  1. Yes, I’d say you soundly kicked your ex’s ass. 48-0

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am glad you agree! I know I sound vindictive and bitchy but after all the years he made my life miserable, I enjoy when I have my shit together and he doesn’t. I feel like I’m blowing past him at 90 mph while he’s in the slow lane.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I just looked at a picture of me & my son. My ex took it. I just looked at it again. Yep, I look great – really, really happy. Like someone who had really great sex the night before….

    Like

  4. When did you have the affair?

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

