"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

I Feel Pretty

I feel pretty,
Oh, so pretty,
I feel pretty and witty and bright!
And I pity
Any girl who isn’t me tonight.

West Side Story – Leonard Bernstein

“Of all the gin joints, in all the towns, in all the world, she walks into mine…”  Humphrey Bogart in Casablanca.  My story today does not have the romance of either West Side Story or Casablanca.

Tuesday was an interestingly strange day.  I started the day by putting on a new sexy work dress and new sexy heels. I looked awesome if I do say so myself.  Next on my agenda, my annual mammogram and breast ultrasound.  I’m prancing around the imagining clinic in my new heels and wondering why the heck I was wasting my great dress on this event.  Next on my agenda, a lunch/board meeting for a business organization, but I had the wrong Tuesday.  Now I’m cranky and hungry.  OK, let’s try sitting at a popular lunch spot bar and see if I meet anyone.  Fail.  Shit!  This day is not going well, but I’m confident it will end well because I’m having drinks with a businesswoman (L) who  I really like at the end of the day.

L had been in an organization with me a couple of years ago.  She’s a great person, so we were having a blast catching up at a popular watering hole.  I had run into someone I know at the bar, but I was in work mode, so I wasn’t on the prowl.  I feel great, look great and who walks into my gin joint….my ex.

Neither one of us works in this part of town.  I haven’t been in this bar for about a year.  WTF.  L doesn’t know this is my ex and he wants an introduction.  So I introduce him – “L, this is M, my ex.”  He tells me he’s meeting his brother.  We were wrapping up anyway, so L and I have a chuckle about the randomness of this encounter.  I made sure to speak to the guy at the bar I know because he’s sitting near my ex (I can’t help my evil streak at times).  Of course, I run into the brother on my way to the car (he’s gained weight, hehehe).  Now I know why the universe was telling me to wear that new sexy dress and heels!!  Thank you!!

Then on Wednesday, I head over to a girlfriend’s business reception.  Her company was hosting a party to celebrate the opening of their new office.  She works with two complete bitches, so I was going to support her.  I get a frantic text from her about an hour before – “Your ex is coming tonight.”   Yep, my ex is friends with one of the bitches.  I have known this for years (all four of us previously went to Happy Hour together in my other life).  I suspect that the bitch may have fucked my ex or given him a BJ in exchange for legal advice. I was always a trifle suspect of their relationship and the bitch is notorious of sleeping her way to her perceived success.   I’m not throwing a fellow sister under the bus; I’m calling it like I see it.

Anyway, I text my GF and tell her “no worries, I had anticipated this.”  Sure enough he does show up, makes a modest attempt at picking up one of my GF’s clients but otherwise he keeps to the other side of the room.  I, on the otherhand, meet a potential new client.  Then I make nice with the big boss (who the bitch is fucking) so I can mooch off my GF’s upcoming business trip to the Caribbean later this year.  My GF was grateful for the support.

It’s not bad having to deal with seeing the ex (both times I looked great), but tonight, I’m home because damnit, I will not have 3 for 3! Tomorrow I’m headed to a free funky art evening.  It’s a couple of blocks from my ex’s office so the odds are good that I could be 3 for 4.  But once again, I will make sure that I feel pretty.

Comments on: "I Feel Pretty" (2)

  1. I like your attitude and style.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

