"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

The Book I Read

I’m writing ’bout the
Book I read
I have to sing about the
Book I read
I’m embarrassed to admit it hit the soft spot in my heart
When I found out you wrote the
Book I read so

Talking Heads

As you can tell from this blog, I’m a reader and writer.  So when I have questions, I turn to the written word for answers, so here are two recent reads for me.   The first one is : “Get the Guy:  Learn Secrets of the Male Mind to Find the Man You Want and the Love You” by Matthew Hussey.  Matthew is a fun, positive, energizing guy.  He is easy on the eyes and I melt over his accent (check out his website).  It’s refreshing to have a man’s perspective.  I was pleased to learn that I do already have game and the book gives me confidence.

The second one is “Are You the One for Me? Knowing Who’s Right and Avoiding Who’s Wrong” by Barbara De Angelis.  A special thank you to Peppermint Sea for recommending Barbara’s book.  It was really helpful to go through it and particularly the section that had me write out the negative attributes of my former relationships and then see what attributes both men had in common.  I got a lot out of the book and strongly recommend it to anyone ready to examine the past in order to change your future.

Another book that, during my marriage, made me wake up and say, “WTF” was “Lean In: Women, Work and the Will to Lead” by Sheryl Sandberg.  Interestingly the resounding part for me was the section she wrote about choosing your partner and what to look for in order to achieve in business.  It was a wake-up call for me on what a lousy decision I made at a very young age.  Oh well, I got two amazingly awesome kids who I wouldn’t trade for anything (I keep reminding myself of this).

My list could go on and on, but I want to hear from you.  What books have been helpful to you in your journey of life?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

