"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

Born in the USA

Sent me off to a foreign land to go and kill the yellow man
Born in the U.S.A.
I was born in the U.S.A.
I was born in the U.S.A.

Bruce Springsteen

I’ve got a new prospect in my dating world.  Let’s call him Soldier Boy (SB).  I was up trolling on POF and sent out a message to SB just a hello.  He lives in my part of town and looked interesting.  Somehow I am drawn to the testosterone-driven.  He’s full time in the reserves, Special Ops, done three tours in Iraq/Afghanistan, been divorced since 2008.  I’m sure that he was a handful for his ex-wife – God bless her because I don’t think I am capable of being a military wife.

We’ve been texting, starting on the POF message board, but I grew tired of it and we switched to direct texting.  This go round I am trying something new – keeping it PG and not jumping into the sexting.  Plus we have about three weeks before he returns to town, so that gives us time to get acquainted.

Last night we had a funny exchange.  We were going through likes and dislikes (or at least I was), he veered off and said “I want to find that lady that has the same interests as me.  Loves me as much as I do her and I can’t live without her.  That’s #1 on the list.”

I responded, “Ahhh, a romantic, I’m touched.”  Then I went on, “At the end of the day, I think we all want that person who we connect with & who truly “gets” us. That and great compatibility in the bedroom.  Essential.”  Hey, a girl needs to define her objectives.

Now keep in mind in between these texts, we are discussing sports we like.  He comes back with this, “True.  If one partner has a much higher drive than the other it gets difficult for both.”

I respond, “Agreed & partners have to be good, giving & game.  Dan Savage – ever heard of him?”  He doesn’t know him.  I respond, “That’s your homework.  It’s past my bedtime & tomorrow is hectic.” 

He texts back, “With all the nutty things I’ve done in Special Forces my T (as in testosterone) has remained high.  So as history shows I’ve been….”

I text back, “Go on…”

He responds, “OK here it is.  High sex drive.  Now I’ll never hear from you again.”

Ok followers, we all know that this doesn’t faze me in the least.  I respond, “LMAO.  Do your homework…we’ll talk about it tomorrow.”  I sign off and go to bed, but hear my phone ping.  I ignore it because I really do need my beauty sleep.

The next morning I awake to this text from SB, “Dan Savage.  Oh my. I read a bunch of passages.  Any one in particular that you suggest?”  That text is followed by a “Good morning sunshine”.

I respond with, “I just came back from walking my dog & saw your texts.  LMAO.  Great job on doing your homework so quickly.  Here’s my point about my buddy, Dan.  I’m pretty open minded – I have no kinks or fetishes – but as I mentioned before, I agree with Dan that partners need to be good, giving, game.  I’ll also throw my poor ex under the bus & confess he had none of those qualities.  There you have it.”  Then I continue rapidly with another text, “But let me caution you, sir.  There is no hopping in bed the moment we meet.  I want to get to know you – the real you—first.  You gotta earn it :)”

He did well in the next exchange: “That thought never crossed my mind.”

Me:  “Right – I’m sure in the back of your mind lurked a hopeful teenage boy :)”

SB: “That’s something a young man would deduct from our conversation.  I’m more of a giver than a taker too.”

Me:  “Ahhh – now we’re talking”

SB: “I’ll make sure you’re fully satiated before I am”

Me: “That’s what I want but I’m going to retreat to higher ground for now.  Do you cook?”

We are working through a list of standard questions.  Let’s see where it goes, but it’s good for me to practice starting slow and working my way up.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

