"Love My Way, It's a New Road"

We’ll Meet Again

We’ll meet again
Don’t know where
Don’t know when
But I know
We’ll meet again
Some sunny day

 Johnny Cash

Last night I went to the mall to pick up a birthday gift for a girlfriend.  I stopped by PF Chang’s for a glass of wine and lettuce wraps (I love their lettuce wraps).  I prefer to sit at the bar because the bartenders are friendly, I can watch TV and usually chat with someone interesting.  I sashay into the bar and notice:  two women, a couple and a guy sitting by himself.  Cute guy, age appropriate, directly in front of the TV…hmmm.  As you can probably tell, I’m not shy.  I go over and plop next to him.  No buffer chair – next to him.  I ask him if the seat is taken, nope.

I order my wine and lettuce wraps, check my phone, sign my birthday card and generally mind my own business.  I couldn’t decide if he would be a snob if I approached him.  Then he gets hot tea in the cool teapot.  He tells the bartender how much he loves their tea.  I say that it’s probably because of the cool teapot – he laughs and agrees.  We end up chatting for about 20-30 minutes.  He’s an educator and interestingly enough one of the courses he teaches is a mandatory divorce class for parents and kids.

We discuss how we each handled our divorces and kids.  Chat about watches, shopping (I show him the gift I got my girlfriend).  He’s seeking gift ideas for a woman whose birthday is Friday.  We have a grand old time.  Meanwhile my girlfriend is texting me on my ETA, so it’s time for me to go.   I hand him my business card and tell him that if he has any friends, I would love to meet them and if he needs help shopping, to give me a call.  Then I sashay back out into the night….will he call???

Comments on: "We’ll Meet Again" (1)

  1. […] out of two times I go into a restaurant with a good bar area, I meet good guys (for my first time, click here).  Guess where I’ll be hanging out […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

